Inspiration · Inspirational Women · Latest Articles · Uncategorized

Inspirational Woman #10: Christie, the Communicator

So few women see themselves as inspirational. At Lumi, we want to show the world that all women are inspirational and have an inspiring story – even and especially those women that we don’t see on the cover of magazines or the TV.

However, in Christie’s case, some of us have seen her on the TV, killing it as a Channel 7 Journalist! But this is not only why she’s inspiring – she’s inspiring because she seeks out opportunities, she works incredibly hard, and she gets. things. done! Read it in her words below!

Describe yourself in one word
Determined.

Tell us about how you got to where you are today. Do you see yourself as an inspirational woman?
My journey consisted of a series of stepping stones. In the news/media industry it’s extremely hard to find employment straight out of university without “experience” so I approached the Seven News director who was giving a guest lecture at Uni and begged him to let me do some unpaid work experience. Later on, that work experience helped me get my first journalism job in Bendigo, writing the local updates for Prime TV. There I met someone working for another network who alerted me that an on-camera reporting role was being advertised internally in Tasmania, he encouraged me to jump on a plane and go to meet the news director in person. I was earning minimum wage, living away from home and had barely a cent to my name but I took the punt and booked a flight as soon as the director agreed to meet with me. He was so impressed I made the trip over that he offered me the job on the spot at the end of the interview. There I learnt the tricks of the trade and stayed in touch with the Seven director back in Melbourne asking for advice and tips wherever I could. I was able to build up a folio of work and after about 12 months I was offered some casual paid work back home in Melbourne with Channel Seven. I took another leap of faith and packed up and moved home on the promise of a couple of shifts a week, and before long I was working every day of the week.

I don’t see myself as inspirational but I hope I’m a good example for young women how hard work is the key to achieving the things you want to achieve. At many times throughout the journey I didn’t believe in myself, but I let other people believe in me, I took their advice on board, and I never stopped trying. The biggest risks I took ended up being the best moves I made.

Describe your most important values and those things that are most important to you.Family. Trust. Giving a damn. Family will always be number one, but luckily for me I have a family who are extremely supportive and extremely understanding of the times I couldn’t make it to family events. Trust is huge, in all facets of the word, in life but also in work. In journalism your greatest tool is your contacts, and if a contact knows they can completely trust you, they will tell you anything. There are so many great front-page-potential stories I have never told – but in doing so I have won the trust of some of my most valued contacts.

Giving a damn – I’m not sure if this is technically a “value” but I think it sums up a few things. Caring about what you do, how it impacts people, how you can change and influence situations for the better, and caring about the people around you. It’s easy to become numb in the news world and to stop giving a damn, but I like to think I’ve never let that happen to me.

What in your life are you most proud of?
A couple of years ago I traveled to Tanzania alone and spent a month with an organisation volunteer teaching at a little pre-primary school. They were some of the best days of my life but I’m proud that I made it, it was during the Ebola outbreak so many people told me to avoid Africa all together and stay home, go to Europe instead. I came to know and love some very special little people who I’ve continued to sponsor through school and I have been back to visit them since. The proudest moment was when I started talking to them on my return journey and they started responding in English. I was blown away as previously they hadn’t known any English. Listening to them speak, and witnessing how much they had learnt at their new sponsor school was a pretty special moment and I remain immensely proud of them.

What in your life can’t you live without?
Definitely coffee. I’m a major coffee snob. My dog Ruby, she provides the most amazing light relief after a big day. And my nephews. Nothing beats the squeal of a toddler’s delight and the warmth you feel with they run towards you with open arms.

Do you struggle with work/life balance? How do you try and master this?
I have had almost no work life balance for the last 8 years, but while I was really loving my job it didn’t matter. Work was my life and I was excited to go to work every day and pumped up at the end of the day looking at what I had achieved.  I’ve worked with some incredible people who have become my close friends and extended family. The key is to keep a very close eye on that feeling you get in the morning when you wake up – if you’re not excited to go to work, then something needs to change. It reached a stage for me just a few months ago when I realised I needed a career change in order to look after myself and find the balance I started to crave. So I took the plunge and I  took on a new role working as a journalist with Bupa in their content marketing team. It has only been a few weeks but already I feel so much happier and healthier!

What inspirational books have you read that have really made a difference in your life? Desert Flower was an amazing book written by Waris Dirie, the autobiography of an incredibly inspirational Somali woman who has spent her life campaigning against Female Genital Mutilation (FGM). She made a name for herself as the supermodel who was discovered by a scout while she worked as a cleaner in an American fast food restaurant. It’s definitely worth a read.

Who in your life do you find most inspiring and why?
My mum. She’s my rock. Always there for me no matter what and always has words of advice when I need them.

What do you love doing in your spare time?
Spare time has been a little scarce… for a long time… but I have always loved photography and I’m excited to spend more time out and about strengthening my photography skills and investing in some new equipment. With my new-found weekends off, I’ve already been asked to shoot a few weddings, and I’m excited to be able to spend some time doing what I love and discovering if there could be a career in it.

What would your perfect ‘me-time’ look like?
The day would start at 9.30am after a sleep in and a long hot shower. Then my favorite me-time is either out walking my dog or catching up with friends with a glass of red in front of a fire in the Winter, or by the pool in the summer –  switching the red wine for a cocktail. I’m always happier in the company of a small number of close friends or family.

One thought on “Inspirational Woman #10: Christie, the Communicator

  1. Gorgeous interview Christie.
    I loved hearing the update of your working life, and so pleased you have had the drive and determination to change direction when you needed too for your career and or, for you personally.
    We know how difficult that can be.
    Well done. You ARE an inspirational woman!

    Like

Leave a Reply

