Inspirational Women · Latest Articles

Inspirational Woman #8: Alice, the ‘Mum-turned-entrepreneur’.

So few women see themselves as inspirational. At Lumi, we want to show the world that all women are inspirational and have an inspiring story – even and especially those women that we don’t see on the cover of magazines or the TV.

Our inspirational woman #8, Alice, is such an inspiration! She is a Mum of 2, successful entrepreneur, a stylish Melbournian, and health and fitness lover. We think you’ll like hercatch her interview below!

Describe yourself in one word
Dedicated

Tell us about how you got to where you are today. Do you see yourself as an inspirational woman?
After having my second child I felt a huge desire to do something for myself – a dream and project to focus on that was separate to looking after children all day. I had been a full-time Mum for four years and I longed to do something stimulating and challenging (not that children aren’t challenging!!) in the business arena.

Being a stay-at-home Mum, I had become very reliant on instant coffee in the mornings and thought that there had to be a better option out there, yet also convenient for at home cuppa’s. So, my sister and I joined forces to create Coffee not Coffee, an organic instant coffee blend that is combined with various herbal and superfood ingredients. It contains more nutrients and less caffeine than a regular coffee, yet it’s still in instant format so it’s convenient for at home or to take to work or the gym etc. I certainly don’t see myself as an ‘inspirational’ woman. I’m just someone who gave it a go!

Describe your most important values and those things that are most important to you. Why are these so important?
Family and happiness are my most important values. I have two sons and a husband and I care most about everyone’s happiness (including myself). If something like a tedious job, toxic friendship or any other factor that is making myself or my family unhappy I’m not going to stick around to dwell in it. Move on! I also strongly believe in doing unto others as you would have them do unto you.

What in your life are you most proud of? What do you see as your biggest achievements?
Most of all my biggest achievement is my beautiful children. Every day I’m proud of who they are.

I’m also proud of going out and starting my own business. This is something a lot of people dream of but are too scared to take the leap from a steady 9-5 job and income. I have learnt A LOT within the last two years of running a business, and learning is a great achievement.

What in your life can’t you live without?
Morning: Coffee. (ie. Coffee not Coffee!)
Evening: Red wine (ie. Pinot Noir)

Do you struggle with work/life balance? How do you try and master this?
Absolutely. I think all working Mums probably struggle with this in some way. I try to have time where I’m 100% focused on the kids but when you own your own business it’s not always that easy to just completely block it out. I’m really passionate about Coffee not Coffee and my brain is constantly ticking over ideas or concerns.

I try and master it by having some ‘me’ time every day – usually this is a workout at the gym. Then having select hours in the day where I’m (child free) working on the business, and then I can be more focused on the kids when I’m with them. I have found it’s way too hard to work and have children around at the same time. This isn’t fair on either parties.

And then we all need some ‘wine-down’ time too! haha.

What inspirational books have you read that have really made a difference in your life?
I love reading business marketing books or entrepreneurial biographies. Seth Godin is one of my favourites. I’ve read The Icarus Deception, Permission Marketing and Watcha Gonna Do With That Duck. They’re great to re-motivate and refocus your ideas and direction within a business. I also found The 4-Hour Work Week by Timothy Ferriss an inspiring read.

Books such as Girl Boss by Sophia Amoruso and Daring and Disruptive by Lisa Messenger I found really motivating as they are relatable for so many young female dreamers! They make you realise that it’s worth just giving something a go. The worst that can happen is it doesn’t work… Then try something else!

What websites, blogs or other communications materials do you read or look for to influence you?
I love Collective Hub Magazine as I love hearing other people’s stories.
Going to networking conferences is also a great way to communicate with other like minded people.

And I look at the Sporteluxe website a few times a week as I have a love for health and fitness.  This is probably mby biggest outlet when I’m just wanting some ‘time out’ from business or children.

What are your hobbies? What do you love doing in your spare time?
I love a good sweat session at the gym in the morning. It gets me going for the day.
I also love the outdoors, so a beach session with the family, park picnic, bush walk or just sitting by a fire pit in the evening.
I also love to shop!!! Of course.

What would your perfect ‘me-time’ look like? What would you do?
Coffee. Gym. Massage. An afternoon out with the kids. Dinner cooked by my husband and then back to back sessions of Game of Thrones. Perfect!

What you hope to achieve in the next 5-10 years?
To build the business on an international scale and become the next Starbucks (of course!) There’s nothing like a dream! 😉

What does success look like to you?
Success comes in so many different forms. There is obviously monetary success. But there’s also success in some failures, such as lessons learned and giving something a go.
Success to me is learning, building my business, nurturing my children into beautiful young men and being happy!

What kind of person do you really aspire to be (daily)?
Interesting, fun, friendly, loving and caring.

Is there anything else you’d like to add?
I love women celebrating women, not just in business but also in everyday lives. So cheers to Lumi in putting together such a beautiful organisation where we can help and inspire one another!

Leave a Reply

